Qutb Minar

Qutb Minar

Here’s the Qutb Minar, the main minaret built in Delhi by Muslim rulers upon the remains of Hindu and Jain and temples back during the 12th and 13th centuries. There are shrines of Sufi saints in the surrounding area. Amazing architecture.

As a sidenote: This was the first time I’d traveled to a tourist site in India with a large group of largely-white foreigners, and I felt like I was on display in an exhibit at the local zoo. I’m pretty sure the Indians around us were taking more pictures of the foreigners than of the minaret itself. There’s a lot that I can complain about regarding being an Indian-American in India (stares when I’m dressed in very obviously Western clothes, surprise and some annoyance when they hear my poor Hindi, often receiving ruder treatment than Caucasian foreigners do), but I’m very glad that I can generally walk about the streets of India without being gawked at as if I were walking the streets of Jaipur in a pink pinstripe suit and a fedora.

Leave a Reply

